The Beginning…

Shop Forums HDF Forums Chat Forum The Beginning…

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author
      ggggaea
      Participant

Hi @handdyedfibers_l7nu4k – Inquiring minds want to know! What is your story? How did you end up a couturier of thread? Where did it all begin? Why did you drop out of circulation and what inspired you to come back on the scene? Are you yourself a stitcher?

I always loved your thread from stalking Jill and Abi’s stitching on Instagram, and have completely fallen down the rabbit hole. ๐Ÿ™‚

Gia

• This topic was modified 3 weeks ago by ggggaea.
      VikkiHDF
      Keymaster

RIGHT!??! Sometimes I wonder myself how it all happened.
      I love textiles. Right now I don’t have time for any crafts, but I have been at various times in my life an avid spinner, weaver, crazy quilter, crocheter, and cross stitcher. I love fibers and textiles!
      But way back then I was a nurse – board certified, shock trauma, ICU, neonatal open heart, psych, you name it. And one day, I just couldn’t anymore. I came home and told my husband I was going to dye silk for stitchers for a living. Don’t ask. I don’t have a clue. He believed in me and while it took us almost a year and a half, we were able to quit our jobs (he also was an RN at that time) and just do floss from home.
      I never feel like I launched a business. I have always felt like I was just responding to what stitchers wanted in a dyer. They wanted more colors. They wanted the DMC line so they could substitute silks for charted pieces. They wanted comparatively low prices. They wanted to create their own colors. And because I wasn’t in shops I had the flexibility to do all of that.